Research Council

The Research Council is a high level think tank for the laboratory provides direction and vision and helps to design road map to achieve it. The Research Council is reconstituted for a period of 3 years with its mandate to advise on the formulation of R&D programmes and future directions of activities of the Laboratory keeping in view the planned programmes, national priorities and opportunity areas, suggest networking with other CSIR National Laboratories on programmes of mutual interest, review R&D activities and research programmes and advise on future directions, advise on fostering linkages between the laboratory, industry and potential clients, constitute panel of experts for selection of Scientific staff, any other functions as may be assigned by Director General/Governing Body of CSIR.

Research Council Members

1. In conversation with Director: Student Faculty Interaction - Vox Populi Prof. Indranil Manna (Chairperson)
Vice Chancellor
BIT Mesra Campus
Birla Institute of Technology, Mesra
Ranchi, Jharkhand 835215
2. Centre for Water Resource Management Prof. Rajiv Shekhar (External Member)
Indian Institute of Technology (IIT –ISM)
Dhanbad 826004
3. AWARDS AND HONOURS Dr. G. Padmanabham (External Member)
International Advance Research Center for
Powder Metallurgy & New Materials (ARCI)
Balapur (P.O.), Hyderabad 500005
4. Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur Prof. Jyotsna Dutta Majumdar (External Member)
Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
Kharagpur 721302
5. Debashish Bhattacharjee - Vice President New Materials Business - Tata  Steel | LinkedIn Dr. Debashis Bhattacharjee (External Member)
Vice President
Tata Steel Ltd
52, Jawaharlal Nehru Road
Kolkata 700071
6. CI Food Webinar Series: Beena Rai | Desautels Faculty of Management -  McGill University Dr. Beena Rai (External Member)
Chief Scientist and Head
Tata Consultancy Services
TCS House, Raveline ST.
Mumbai -400001
7. G. REDDY | Outstanding Scientist Dr. G. Madhusudan Reddy (Agency Representative)
Director Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory
Kanchabagh P.O.
Hyderabad 500058
8. Prof. Prita Pant | Metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science Prof. Prita Pant (DG’s Nominee)
Department of Metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science
Indian Institute of Technology
Powai, Mumbai 400076
9. Dr. Suddhasatwa Basu Prof. Suddhasatwa Basu (Sister Labortory)
Director CSIR – Institute of Minerals & Materials Technology
Bhubneswar - 751013
10. Dr. I. Chattoraj Dr. Indranil Chattoraj
CSIR – National Metallurgical Laboratory
11. InCerS Dr. R.M. Mohanty (CSIR-Headquarters Invitee)
Principal Scientist
Technology Management Directorate
(Socio-Economic Ministry Interface)
Council of Scientific Industrial Research
Rafi Marg, New Delhi 110001